GWS Faculty Award

The Department Gender and Women’s Studies at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign invites nominations for the GWS Faculty Award.  Letters of nomination may come from faculty, academic professionals, staff, and students from across campus, and should nominate a GWS Core Faculty member.  Letters should address one or more of the following areas:

Jean Alice Scharre Thompson Scholarship

The Annual Jean Scharre Thompson Undergraduate Scholarship in Gender and Women’s Studies is a one-time annual award providing support in the amount of $1,500.

Jean Scharre Thompson was a high school teacher and educator with a lifelong interest in and commitment to women’s rights and women’s education.  She was an active member of the American Association of University Women.

Marianne Ferber Award

The Marianne A. Ferber endowment was created to honor Marianne A. Ferber's thirty-eight years of excellence at the University of Illinois in scholarship, research, and teaching on the behalf of women. $1000 is awarded annually to a graduate student with the most outstanding dissertation proposal related to Gender and Women's Studies.

Mary Ramier Grant

The Mary Ramier grant is set up to inspire undergraduate women to develop as successful leaders, activists, and professionals.

Outstanding GWS Student

Recognizes outstanding Gender and Women's Studies major or minor with an annual award of $250.  Deadline For Nominations: April 15

Smalley Fellowship

The Department of Gender and Women’s Studies will award a Graduate Research Fellowship in the amount of $12,000 for the period of January 15 to June 30.  The fellowship carries a tuition and fee waiver. 

The recipient of the Smalley Fellowship in Gender and Women’s Studies must be: